No. 1 of 5 in the Decalog short story collections series
<< Previous     Next >>

Cover image for Decalog
By:Mark Stammers & Stephen James Walker (ed.)
Rating:   7.4  (17 votes)  Vote here
Review:  A Good Start  Read more (1 in total)
Released:  March 1994
Publisher:  Virgin
Format: paperback
Order from
New:  £7.99
Used:  £4.30
Order from
New:  $9.92
Used:  $4.44
Order from
Used:  $10.27

Cover blurb:
Ten stories — Seven Doctors — One enigma

Los Angeles. The war’s over, the GIs are home, Truman’s in the White House and the mobsters are making a killing — as usual.

Into the office of a private investigator walks a mysterious little man with a story that’s out of this world. He says he’s lost his memory. He wants the PI to help him. When he turns out his pockets, he produces a pile of bizarre objects, each of which restores a memory and solves a part of the puzzle.

And the memories seem to belong to seven different people.

Decalog is a new concept in Doctor Who fiction: A cycle of ten linked stories. The stories are written by authors who are well known to readers of the New Adventures or Doctor Who magazines — Paul Cornell, Marc Platt, Vanessa Bishop, Jim Mortimore, Andy Lane — and have been brought together by Mark Stammers and Stephen James Walker, who are part of the team that researches and writes in-depth factual books about Doctor Who such as The Sixties and the Handbook series.


  • Playback by Stephen James Walker
  • Fallen Angel by Andy Lane
  • The Duke of Dominoes by Marc Platt
  • The Straw That Broke the Camel’s Back by Vanessa Bishop
  • Scarab of Death by Mark Stammers
  • The Book of Shadows by Jim Mortimore
  • Fascination by David J. Howe
  • The Golden Door by David Auger
  • Prisoners of the Sun by Tim Robins
  • Lackaday Express by Paul Cornell

Go back

Active session = no / Cookie = no