About Time 4: 1975-1979

No. 4 of 9 in the About Time series
<< Previous     Next >>

By:Lawrence Miles & Tat Wood
Rating:   8.8  (12 votes)  Vote here
Review:  None yet  Add a review
Editions:  US (1st paperback) | US (2nd paperback)

Cover image for About Time 4: 1975-1979
Edition: US (1st paperback)
Released:  January 2005
Publisher:  Mad Norwegian Press
Format: paperback
Order from Amazon.co.uk
New:  £11.12
Used:  £8.99
Order from Amazon.com
New:  $15.61
Used:  $12.78
Order from Amazon.ca
New:  $20.62
Used:  $16.88

Note:  The third printing of this book, from 2008, was missing page 311 due to a printing error. The missing page is available to view online.

Cover blurb:
...the unauthorized & ambitiously definitive guide to Who...

The alien warlord who’s got six copies of the Mona Lisa in his basement, and still isn’t satisfied. The hideous underwater embryo-creatures who insist on trying to take over the world from Loch Ness. The giant rat that patrols the sewers of Victorian London, and somehow seemed a lot more worrying at the time.

These aren’t just the greatest, strangest or most Doctor-Who-like moments in Doctor Who. These are the moments that make up an era, part of a universe of things we’d never seen before and never expected. And this is the all-purpose handbook to that universe, both on- and off-screen. Contained within these volumes is everything you could reasonably want to know about the original series of Doctor Who, from the nuances of Cyberman culture to the science of the Eye of Harmony, from the programme’s most triumphant successes to its most bizarre logical flaws, from its roots in the BBC of the 1960s to its legacy in the here and now.

But above all else, this is a history. A history of the Doctor Who continuum; a history of the way the series changed across the span of a generation; and a history of those who grew up with it, of what it meant to the children of the ‘60s, ‘70s and ‘80s.

This is, in a very real sense, About Time.

Written by Lawrence Miles (Faction Paradox) and Tat Wood (Dreamwatch, SFX), About Time Volume IV dissects Doctor Who Seasons 12 to 17 — the bulk of the Tom Baker era. Among other things, this book strives to answer such vitally important questions as “Where (and When) is Gallifrey?", “Why Couldn’t the BBC Just Have Spent More Money?", “Why Does Earth Keep Getting Invaded?” and “War of the Daleks: Should Anyone Believe a Word of It?".

No cover available
Edition: US (2nd paperback)
Released:  December 2021 (Exact date unconfirmed)
Publisher:  Mad Norwegian Press
Format: paperback

Note:  Expanded edition.

Cover blurb:
No cover information available yet.

Go back

Active session = no / Cookie = no