About Time 6: 1985-1989 @ The TARDIS Library (Doctor Who books, DVDs, videos & audios)

About Time 6: 1985-1989

No. 6 of 9 in the About Time series
<< Previous     Next >>

Cover image for About Time 6: 1985-1989
By:Tat Wood & Lars Pearson
Rating:   8.3  (7 votes)  Vote here
Review:  None yet  Add a review
Released:  November 2007
Publisher:  Mad Norwegian Press
Format: paperback
Order from Amazon.co.uk
New:  £17.23
Used:  £12.27
Prices as of 16 Jun 14:33 GMT   More info
Order from Amazon.com
New: $24.95 $17.73 Save 29%
Used:  $8.97
Prices as of 16 Jun 14:33 GMT   More info
Order from Amazon.ca(Unable to fetch price)

Cover blurb:
...the unauthorized & ambitiously definitive guide to Who...

The money-mad laughing gnome peddling videos of bizarre executions, whose home planet has pink seas and an orange sky. The evil future incarnation of the Doctor, fighting his younger self to the death in a steam-driven Dickensian nightmare. The deranged genius made of humbugs and liquorice, and who kills people with sweets too good to eat.

These aren’t just the greatest, strangest or most Doctor-Who-like moments in Doctor Who. These are the moments that make up an era, part of a universe of things we’d never seen before and never expected. And this is the all-purpose handbook to that universe, both on- and off-screen. Contained within these volumes is everything you could reasonably want to know about the original series of Doctor Who, from the nuances of Cyberman culture to the science of the Eye of Harmony, from the programme’s most triumphant successes to its most bizarre logical flaws, from its roots in the 1960s to its legacy in the here and now.

But above all else, this is a history. A history of the Doctor Who continuum; a history of the way the series changed across the span of a generation; and a history of those who grew up with it, of what it meant to the children of the ‘60s, ‘70s and ‘80s.

This is, in a very real sense, About Time.

Written by Tat Wood (TV Zone, Doctor Who Magazine), About Time Volume VI dissects Doctor Who Seasons 22 to 26 (the end of the classic series’ run) and the 1996 TV Movie. Among other things, this book strives to answer such vitally important questions as “What Are the Oddest Romances in the Programme’s History?", “Was There a Season 6B?” and “Does Paul McGann Count?".

with additional material by LARS PEARSON

Go back

Active session = no / Cookie = no