At The BBC Radiophonic Workshop Volume 3: The Leisure Hive

No. 3 of 4 in the At The BBC Radiophonic Workshop series
<< Previous     Next >>

Cover image for At The BBC Radiophonic Workshop Volume 3: The Leisure Hive
By:Peter Howell & Dick Mills
Rating:   8  (6 votes)  Vote here
Review:  None yet  Add a review
Released:  March 2002
Publisher:  BBC Music
Format: 1 x CD
Order from currently available)
Order from currently available)
Order from to fetch price)

Description:  Compilation of Doctor Who incidental music and sound effects produced by the BBC Radiophonic Workshop for the 1980 Doctor Who TV story The Leisure Hive — also included are sound effects produced for the stories Meglos and Full Circle.

Cover blurb:

Liner notes:
(The CD inner sleeve contains a short essay by Peter Howell & a longer one by Mark Ayres. Peter Howell’s text is as follows:)

The music for The Leisure Hive stands out in my recollection for two reasons. Not only was it my first attempt at science fiction incidental music but also it was the most expansive of all the scores I wrote for Doctor Who. It was the product of my naivety in a way, because looking back on it now, the music seems almost too large and too omnipresent for the likes of TV.

Lovett Bickford, the director of The Leisure Hive, approached it with no preconceptions and with the full intention of giving people a ‘ride for their money’. I had been surrounded for years by numerous boxes of tricks at the Radiophonic Workshop and the opportunity had arrived to use them with no holds barred.

The music was written and constructed using a variety of techniques: multi tracking, tape manipulation, voltage controlled sequencing, and odd methods that even I can’t now recall. Into this mix was thrown my enthusiasm for classical pieces, and the result was the trumpeting march as the spaceship lands and later in the story, the Bolero-like piece accompanying the army of Dr Who’s, with many incidental pieces along the way.

I still remember how much I enjoyed doing the music, it was one of those rare occasions when I was able to write completely freely, without any formula to constrain me. After such a first experience, everything else is relative.
— Peter Howell

Track listing:

  1. Doctor Who: Opening Theme — Peter Howell

    The Leisure Hive (Serial 5N) — Peter Howell

  2. Brighton Beach / K9 Kaput
  3. Into Argolis
  4. The Generator / Intruders
  5. ‘His Time Has Come’ / Earth Shuttle Arrives
  6. Tachyon Terror
  7. Into the Generator
  8. The Hive / Mena Fades
  9. Looking for Mr Brock
  10. Testing Time
  11. The Limitation Program
  12. The West Lodge
  13. The Child of the Generator
  14. The Foamasi
  15. The Argolin Dawn
  16. ‘We, Pangol’
  17. Re-creation
  18. Rebirth
  19. Back to Work

  20. Doctor Who: Closing Theme — Peter Howell

    Sound Effects — Dick Mills

    The Leisure Hive (Serial 5N)

  21. Argolis Exterior Planet Atmosphere
  22. Earth Shuttle Arriving
  23. Generator Hall
  24. Boardroom
  25. Hologram
  26. Corridor Background
  27. Generator and Screen
  28. Tachyon Drive Engaged

    Meglos (Serial 5Q)

  29. The Screens of Zolpha-Thura
  30. Laboratory Ascends
  31. Dodecahedron Energy Beams

    Full Circle (Serial 5R)

  32. Mistfall Mist
  33. Operating Room
  34. Starliner Instrument Panel

    Bonus Track

  35. Doctor Who Theme: New Stereo Remix 2002 — Mark Ayres

Go back

Active session = no / Cookie = no