The Wheel of Ice
 

No. 5 of 16 in the BBC prestige novels series
<< Previous     Next >>

By:Stephen Baxter
Rating:   9.1  (8 votes)  Vote here
Review:  Past and Perfect Pat  Read more (3 in total)
Editions:  UK (hardback) | US (hardback) | Germany (hardback) | UK (paperback) | US (paperback) | France (hardback)
Note:Also available as an audio reading. A brand new novel starring the Second Doctor. This was the first original "classic series" Doctor novel published since the BBC's own Past Doctor novel range stopped in 2005. Followed in 2013 by the Third Doctor novel Harvest of Time.

Cover image for The Wheel of Ice
Edition: UK (hardback)
Released:  August 2012
Publisher:  BBC Books
ISBN:978-1-84990-182-6
Format: hardback
Owned:
Buy:
Order from Amazon.co.uk
New:  £29.99
Used:  £2.00
Order from Amazon.com
New:  $70.59
Used:  $3.43
Order from Amazon.ca
New:  CDN$ 128.25
Used:  CDN$ 4.62
eBay

Cover blurb:
Praise for Stephen Baxter:

'A stunning talent!' Locus

'Highly intelligent, with original ideas in almost every sentence.' Guardian

'Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov.' The Times

'Technically brilliant and downright exciting.' SFX

Inside cover flaps read as follows:

From master of science fiction Stephen Baxter, a thrilling new adventure featuring the Second Doctor

The Wheel: a ring of ice and steel turning around a moon of Saturn, and home to a mining colony supplying a resource-hungry Earth. A bad place to grow up.

The colony has been plagued by problems. Maybe it's just gremlins, just bad luck. But the equipment failures and thefts of resources have been increasing, and there have been stories among the children of mysterious creatures glimpsed aboard the Wheel. Many of the younger workers refuse to go down the warren-like mines anymore. And then sixteen-year-old Phee Laws, surfing Saturn's rings, saves an enigmatic blue box from destruction.

Aboard the Wheel, the Doctor, Jamie and Zoe find a critical situation — and they are suspected by some as the source of the sabotage. They soon find themselves caught in a mystery that goes right back to the creation of the solar system. A mystery that could kill them all.

Stephen Baxter is recognised as one of the world's foremost science fiction writers. Since 1987, he has published over forty books, including the Manifold Trilogy, as well as the award-winning The Time Ships and over a hundred short stories. He is President of the British Science Fiction Association, a Vice-President of the H.G. Wells Society, and is also co-author with Terry Pratchett of The Long Earth series.

Stephen's books have won the Philip K. Dick Award, the John W. Campbell Memorial Award, the British Science Fiction Association Award, and have been nominated for several others, including the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the Hugo Award and Locus awards.

Cover image for The Wheel of Ice
Edition: US (hardback)
Released:  December 2012
Publisher:  Ace Books
ISBN:978-0-425-26122-4
Format: hardback
Owned:
Buy:
Order from Amazon.co.uk
New:  £17.96
Used:  £5.63
Order from Amazon.com(Unable to fetch price)
Order from Amazon.ca
New:  CDN$ 25.99
Used:  CDN$ 15.87
eBay

Cover blurb:
Praise for Stephen Baxter:

'A stunning talent!'Locus

'Highly intelligent, with original ideas in almost every sentence.'The Guardian (UK)

'Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov.'The Times (UK)

'Technically brilliant and downright exciting.'SFX

Inside cover flaps read as follows:

From Stephen Baxter, master of science fiction and national bestselling author of Bronze Summer, comes an all-new Doctor Who adventure...

Hurtling through a vortex beyond time and space is a police box that's not a police box. The TARDIS has carried the Doctor and his companions, Jamie and Zoe, to all sorts of places, but now, when they don't want to go anywhere, the TARDIS makes a decision for them. Like it or not, they're coming in for a landing, who knows where or when...

The Wheel: a ring of ice and metal turning around a moon of Saturn, home to a mining colony supplying a resource-hungry Earth. It's a bad place to live — and a worse place to grow up..

The colony has been plagued by problems. Maybe it's only a run of bad luck, but the equipment failures and thefts of resources have been increasing. And among the children there are stories of mysterious creatures glimpsed aboard the Wheel. Some of the younger workers are even refusing to go down into the warren-like mines any more.

And then one of them, surfing Saturn's rings, saves an enigmatic blue box from destruction.

Once on the Wheel, the Doctor and his companions face a critical situation when they become suspected by some as the source of the ongoing sabotage.

They soon find themselves caught in a mystery that goes all the way back to the creation of the solar system. A mystery that could destroy the Wheel — and kill them all...

Stephen Baxter is a trained engineer with a degree in mathematics from Cambridge and a doctorate in aero-engineering research from the University of Southampton. After teaching for a number of years and working in the information technology management industry, he began writing full-time in 1995. He is a winner of the British Science Fiction Award and the Locus Award, as well as a nominee for several Arthur C. Clarke and Hugo awards. His novel Voyage won the Sidewise Award for the best alternate history novel of the year, and he won the Philip K. Dick Award twice, for The Time Ships and for Vacuum Diagrams. He is also a recipient of the John W. Campbell Award for The Time Ships. Visit his website at www.stephen-baxter.com.

Cover image for Rad aus Eis
Edition: Germany (hardback)
Title:  Rad aus Eis
Released:  May 2013
Publisher:  Cross Cult
ISBN:978-3-86425-195-5
Format: hardback
Owned:
Buy:
Order from Amazon.de
Used:  21,23 €
Order from Amazon.co.uk
Used:  £19.18
eBay

Cover blurb:
No cover information available yet.

Help wanted! Do you own this item? Please help make this site more complete by emailing me details of the back cover blurb. Thanks!

Cover image for The Wheel of Ice
Edition: UK (paperback)
Released:  August 2013
Publisher:  BBC Books
ISBN:978-1-84990-183-3
Format: paperback
Owned:
Buy:
Order from Amazon.co.uk
New: £12.99
Used:  £0.61
Order from Amazon.com(Unable to fetch price)
Order from Amazon.ca(Unable to fetch price)
eBay

Cover blurb:
No cover information available yet.

Help wanted! Do you own this item? Please help make this site more complete by emailing me details of the back cover blurb. Thanks!

Cover image for The Wheel of Ice
Edition: US (paperback)
Released:  May 2014
Publisher:  Ace Books
ISBN:978-0-425-26123-1
Format: paperback
Owned:
Buy:
Order from Amazon.co.uk
Used:  £4.89
Order from Amazon.com(Unable to fetch price)
Order from Amazon.ca
New: CDN$ 18.00
Used:  CDN$ 9.57
eBay

Cover blurb:
"A master of the genre tackles the Time Lord with great results."
Sci-Fi Bulletin

The Wheel. A ring of ice and metal turning around a moon of Saturn, home to a mining colony supplying a resource-hungry Earth — a colony plagued by problems. Equipment failures and thefts are on the rise. Children tell stories of mysterious creatures glimpsed aboard the Wheel. And some of the younger workers refuse to go down into the warren-like mines.

And then one of them, surfing Saturn's rings, saves an enigmatic blue box from destruction.

Once on the Wheel, the Doctor and his companions, Jamie and Zoe, face a critical situation when they become suspected by some as the source of the ongoing sabotage. They soon find themselves caught in a mystery that reaches back to the creation of the solar system. A mystery that could destroy the Wheel — and kill them all...

"Highly entertaining."
SFX

Cover image for La Roue de Glace
Edition: France (hardback)
Title:  La Roue de Glace
Released:  January 2015
Publisher:  Milady
ISBN:978-2-8112-1383-1
Format: hardback
Owned:
Buy:
Order from Amazon.fr(Unable to fetch price)
Order from Amazon.co.uk
New: £18.66
Used:  £11.86
eBay

Cover blurb:
Il ne fait pas bon grandir sur la Roue. Cet anneau de glace et d'acier autour d'une lune de Saturne qui héberge une colonie minière alimentant la Terre en minerais rares et précieux.

Lorsque de mystérieuses créatures sont aperçues à bord de la Roue, c'est un nouveau coup dur pour cette colonie déjà noyée dans les problèmes car les jeunes mineurs ne veulent plus descendre dans les mines labyrinthiques. Jusqu'au jour où la jeune Phee Laws, en surfant sur les anneaux de Saturne, sauve une étrange boîte bleue de la destruction.

À bord de la Roue, le Docteur, Jamie et Zoé vont se retrouver plongés au cœur d'un mystère qui remonte à la création du système solaire. Un mystère qui pourrait tous les tuer...

« HAUTEMENT DIVERTISSANT. »
SFX

Né en 1957, STEPHEN BAXTER est l'un des chefs de file de la Science-Fiction contemporaine, avec plus de trente romans à succès, dont Voyage et Les Vaisseaux du temps.


Go back

Active session = no / Cookie = no