The English Way of Death

No. 20 of 33 in the Missing Adventures series
<< Previous     Next >>

By:Gareth Roberts
Rating:   7.9  (52 votes)  Vote here
Review:  Not Quite A Romance.  Read more (3 in total)
Editions:  1st | 2nd
Note:Also available as an audio adaptation.

Cover image for The English Way of Death
Edition: 1st
When:  March 1996
Format: paperback
Order from
New:  £24.98
Used:  £8.44
Order from
New:  $20.00
Used:  $13.50
Order from
New:  CDN$ 53.05
Used:  CDN$ 34.42

Cover blurb:
An original novel featuring the Fourth Doctor, Romana and K-9.

'He plans to destroy the world, next Tuesday.'
'How vulgar,' replied the Doctor. 'Nobody does anything of importance on a Tuesday.'

It's the sweltering summer of 1930, and Londoners are enjoying the heatwave. The Doctor, Romana and K-9 plan to take a rest after their recent adventures, but the TARDIS warns them of time pollution in the locality.

What connects the isolated Sussex resort of Nutchurch with the secret society run by the eccentric Percy Closed? Why has millionaire Hepworth Stackhouse dismissed his staff and hired assassin Julia Orlostro? And what is the truth behind the infernal vapour known only as Zodaal?

The Doctor's tribulations as he attempts to answer these questions will excite and enthral discerning readers throughout the land.

This adventure takes place immediately after the Missing Adventure The Romance of Crime.

Gareth Roberts is the author of three books in the New Adventures series and the Missing Adventure The Romance of Crime, all of which have been highly acclaimed, as well as the novelization of Cracker: To Be a Somebody. He lives in Cricklewood.

No cover available
Edition: 2nd
When:  12 February 2015
Format: paperback
Order from
New: £7.99
Order from currently available)
Order from currently available)

Note:  One of 8 "History Collection" reprints being published simultaneously. The others are: The Witch Hunters (1st Doctor), The Roundheads (2nd Doctor), Amorality Tale (3rd Doctor), The Shadow in the Glass (6th Doctor), Human Nature (7th Doctor), The Stone Rose (10th Doctor) and Dead of Winter (11th Doctor).

Cover blurb:
No cover information available yet.

Go Back