Cover image for New Beginnings

Reviews for New Beginnings

There are 8 reviews so far. To add a review of your own for this item, visit the voting page.



yesok.

By:jennylousekenchington, home
Date:Sunday 28 January 2007
Rating:   5

new doctorwhodvds,10.out10.good,



Three Classic Stories

By:Stephen Hartwell, Engalnd
Date:Thursday 1 February 2007
Rating:   10

This Dvd box set is a must have for doctor who fans. The changeover between Tom Baker and Peter Davdison is superb and the re-introduction of the master adds to the excellence of these 3 stories.



2 out of 3

By:Gareth, Chester UK
Date:Sunday 11 February 2007
Rating:   8

Logopolis: Surreal, funereal, stylish, gripping, near perfection.
Castrovalva: unique, warm, thoughtful, fascinating.
Keeper of Traken: Absolute rubbish. The acting is shocking from most of the Trakens we meet, so much so that you may end up rather hoping the Master wins. Thankfully (spoiler coming up) we can cheer during Logopolis when we discover that Nyssa's whole planetary system is destroyed by the entropy field. YAY!!!!



It's all good!

By:Huw Davies, Taunton, United Kingdom
Date:Friday 30 May 2008
Rating:   9

A great selection of stories, along with a package of really good extras.
The Keeper of Traken - 4/5
Logopolis - 5/5
Castrovalva - 4/5
Extras - 4/5
Total score - 4/5



The End & The Beginning

By:Trevor Smith, Nottingham, United Kingdom
Date:Tuesday 8 July 2008
Rating:   9

2 excellent story's & 1 so so story. Starting with Keeper Of Traken. Not only the best story here, but one of the best 4th Doctor story's ever. Poignant & exciting. Great performances by Anthony Ainley & Sarah Sutton as well as a mean & moody performance from Tom Baker. It's a pity then that (my favourite) Doctors last outing is in such a boringly ordinary story as Logopolis. Just plain dull & the most boring regeneration scene ever. Things perk up for the first 5th doctor story as Peter Davidson takes up the, very heavy, baton from Tom Baker in a moving & warm tale. The DVDs have some excellent documentaries.



A new review at last...

By:Huw Davies, Taunton, United Kingdom
Date:Saturday 6 March 2010
Rating:   9

A new computer = a new, more detailed review of this boxset, exclusively for the TARDIS Library.
'The Keeper of Traken' sees the return of the Master after several years. 'The Deadly Assassin' was his previous appearance, where he sported an uber-creepy skeleton-style mask. Geoffrey Beevers preferred not to wear it here, but his performance is just as good as Peter Pratt's. Nyssa puts in a good appearance, as well as Anthony Ainley (odd to see him playing a good guy). Tom Baker is very David Tennant in this adventure, esp. when talking to Adric in the TARDIS. The story itself is very average, but it links well to the next...
'Logopolis' is one of my favourite Tom Baker stories. Christoper H. Bidmead injects a very real, science-based theme to this and the next story, and it's nice while it lasts. The entropy theme is very similar to the momentous finales and story arcs of 21st-century Who, and we have a nice mention of the E-Space trilogy of a few stories back. The
Master is superbly played, as is the Monitor and of course the Doctor: Tom Baker in his last, most sombre performance.
'Castrovalva' is a story of two halves. Parts 1 and 2 are pretty rubbish (mainly set in the TARDIS), and Parts 3 and 4 are set in an Escher-based impossible city. The final stand against the Master is great to watch, but we learn in 'Time-Flight' that he survived...
The extras are strong - my favourite is the documentary on the changeover between Baker and Davison.
Overall, a great start to 2007's DVDs - despite me writing this in March 2010.



Mental Doctor into Sane Doctor

By:Jonathan Gardner, Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Date:Wednesday 5 May 2010
Rating:   10

Tom Baker's 'Mental Doctor' into Peter Davison's 'Sane Doctor' .
The Keeper of Traken 9/10 - This is a classic story to re-introduce The Master.
Logopolis 10/10 - My favorite Master (played by Antony Ainley) is more evil in this than any other story to include The Master. The regeneration itself - it is good to see the 4th Doctor's enemies & companions.
Castrovalva 9/10 - Best regeneration recovery story.



Afine beginning and end...

By:Matthew David Rabjohns, Bridgend, United Kingdom
Date:Friday 6 May 2011
Rating:   10

The Keeper of Traken is something very special indeed to me. It has wonderful set design, it has great characters, and it has brilliant costume design and the Melkur is creepy and unsettling in appearance. Anthony Ainley makes his first appearance as Tremas, the Dad of Nyssa, played by the wonderful Sarah Sutton. Sarah Sutton was the perfect choice to play one of the most caring characters in Doctor Who. I just love her to bits and she makes a very fine first impression indeed. Its also really good to see Margot Van Der Burgh and John Woodnutt again, and again they both play good and interesting characters. Geoffery Beevers steals the show though, with his voice in particular sounding chillingly effective.

Logopolis is the perfect end to Tom's long reign as the Doctor. Although hes at last come back for some brillaint audio stories! The characters here are all very strong indeed, and Anthony is perhaps at his best here in his first appearance in a full story as the Master. The regeneration sequence is very well done, and looks very good indeed. Its sad to see Tom go on screen so Im glad he's back for more now!

Castrovalva makes for a mad intro to the new Doctor, Peter Davison. He s at once clearly the most calm, reserved, and patient of Doctors. And this gives the story all the more impact after the mentalness of Tom before! This story has some dodgy, but for me, very amusing effects work. And Sarah Sutton is really getting into the role of Nyssa here, using her head and being gentle and lovely. Janet Fielding is great, building on her great introduction in Logopolis. Shes catty but wonderful, already a favourite companion of mine. And Matthew Waterhous gives another good performance as Adric, here manipulated by the Master into making a trap for the Doctor. And we get to see a new part of the TARDIS, in the Zero room which is an interesting idea. Altogether these trio of stories are a great Master Trilogy, with both Geoffery and Anthony instantly making a very good impression. Great stuff!!




Go Back